Skip to content

Excuses, Excuses

November 30, 2010

It’s been quite a while since I posted anything – sorry! I have been caught up in college applications for quite a while now – they’re the most tedious and time consuming thing I’ve done, I think. But I’ve been doing some other things, too.

I now have a daily internship with Do713, a website that lets Houstonians know all the cool events that are going on in the city. I’m enjoying it a lot – I get to learn what it takes to manage a website, and I get to see all the cool stuff going on in H-town! I also love the people at my office – they’re mostly film people, writers, and computer programmers.  It’s a pleasantly artsy place.

My puppetry friends and I recently finished a show for a Dia de Los Muertos celebration at one of my favorite museums, the Lawndale Art Center. It was fun, but really hard work.

I decided to assign myself a lot more classes through Clonlara – it’s gonna be hard to get all the credits I need, actually. But I know I can do it, and I’m really excited about it too!I’m taking Electronics/Basic Engineering, College Algebra, Composition, Literature, American Government,  and Economics. Whew. I’ve been tackling most of these just with reading so far – I read a great book on basic electronics called There Are No Electrons: Electronics for Earthlings. For composition, I’m counting all the writing I do for Space City Rock as credit. I do a lot of it, trust me. For Economics and American Government, I’ve been using The Ludwig von Mises Institute heavily. I’m taking a College Algebra course at Houston Community College, and for Literature I’m currently reading Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

The other projects I’m working on are more in the arts category. The creator of Houston’s Suchu Dance (which I love) has created a choreography contest, in which somebody submits a video of a short dance piece that they’ve created and performed. I’m entering this contest with my friend Rachel. I’ve never done any kind of dance before, (but I really really love to watch it) so it should be interesting!

I’m also thinking about entering a teen art competition at the Contemporary Arts Museum Houston. I’ll let you know more about it when I have a better idea of what my submission will be…

Anyway, sorry it’s been so long! I’ll keep you all posted on college and all my other projects.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 9:38 pm

    Wow! This explains why I don’t see you very often. Keep up the good work, Robin. I am glad you have finished with your college applications.

Leave a Reply

