Skip to content

Khan Academy

August 21, 2010

For a while I was thinking about simply not worrying about teaching myself any math this year, since I have all the math credits required to graduate Clonlara. But the fact is, I will most likely face math in college, (this really depends on where I end up going and what I major in…) or else I’ll test out of it. So I have to learn some math. But math textbooks are generally boring and tedious enough to make one weep at the sight of it, so I set out in search of a better resource…

I found it when a couple of my unschooled friends suggested a website they had used. It’s called Khan Academy, and it’s truly an incredible example of how much one person can accomplish. Salman Khan has created a huge library of teaching videos, (over 1600!) all of them easy to follow, that he has made free and available to everyone online. They’re great videos for visual learners (like me) – I’ve spent all day reviewing algebra, trigonometry and geometry with them. Next, I plan on moving to pre-calculus.

Whether you love math or you’re more like I am, Khan Academy is a good place to look for easily understandable explanations of math concepts. Below, Khan outlines the content of the database he’s compiled and gives suggestions for how to tackle all of it.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

