Skip to content

Vacation?

June 2, 2010

In Grace Llewellyn’s The Teenage Liberation Handbook, she talks about the importance of taking a vacation after being liberated from school and before tackling homeschooling, to relax and recoup. It doesn’t need to be to an exotic island or anything – it doesnt even need to involve leaving home. But without this vacation, she says, you may step into homeschooling feeling stressed and unready, which could potentially ruin your experience.

I’m a little bit worried that I’m stepping into this trap. I’ve been on summer break for about a week now, and I haven’t stopped doing stuff for a moment. This definitely proves that I’m motivated and not lazy, but I’m worried that I may not be able to keep this same level of energy all year if I don’t take a little break.

For instance: I’ve been working on a puppet show, reviewing algebra, learning HTML, playing music with my band, and going to every museum and concert that I can. And I just applied for a summer job. All of these things are really fun, don’t get me wrong, but I’m starting to think that going away and being uncontactable for a little while might be needed…

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Corey permalink
    June 10, 2010 5:40 am

    Thing about summer jobs, is that they force you to a schedule. That will probably put a damper on doing what you want all the time. I come home and wanna do nothing, cause I’ve just been doing something for like 7 hours straight.

    • rbabb permalink
      June 11, 2010 7:45 pm

      That’s a very good point. Although being responsible and making money is something that I do need to start thinking about, I have to remember that I’m still a kid, and I need some time and some freedom to grow, and to learn what I want to spend my time doing. Once I have a better idea of that, I can concern myself with more grown-up issues.

Leave a Reply

