Skip to content

The Social Problem

May 28, 2010

My parents and I went to my end-of-the year conference at school this morning, during which my math teacher asked me some very pointed questions about how I could possibly learn without any social contact. I told him what I’ve told other people – I’m going to have plenty of social contact. I see no reason for my relationships with friends at my old school to deteriorate. In fact, I’m just going to have more time to spend with those people after their school days and on weekends, since I won’t have “homework”, per se. Also, I pointed out that school is not the only community that I am a member of, or could be a member of. I go to a Quaker Meeting on Sundays and Wednesdays. I have a group of friends I play music with regularly. I’m a member of a puppetry troupe. I’ve learned in each of these groups, as well as formed wonderful friendships.

And besides all of these groups, I reminded him, I won’t be homeschooling alone. I’m going to be learning with my good friend Ciaran, who is the most incredible person I’ve met. He is a grade below me in school, but is by far a more intelligent and productive person than I am. I spent most of my Sophmore year admiring him from afar, wondering how he knew so much and was so self-confident. He is so passionate, motivated, and creative, that I can’t think of anyone else I would rather homeschool with.

Ciaran and I have spent countless hours talking about homeschooling, and planning things to do. Although we both have some different goals for the year, we intend to do most of our learning and creating together. We’ve started planning some trips that we’ll take, projects we’ll tackle, and books that we’ll read together. Although I think I would be willing to homeschool on my own, I know that doing it with him will make my year much more enjoyable and educational.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. trishhh46 permalink
    May 29, 2010 1:09 am

    well that is interesting i would really like to get home schooled. i feel as though i am too mature or on a high level then the people around me. and i would much rather focus on my grades and goals in life then focuse on my reputation, social status, or friends. i mean who knows where you will be in 15 years, chances are not with those same people from high school. check out my blog!

    ~trish

    • rbabb permalink
      May 29, 2010 3:57 am

      I’m glad that you’re interested in homeschooling!
      I know how you feel about the feeling of being more mature than your classmates. However, if you are considering homeschooling, don’t forget that friends, and social contact in general, are important.
      It’s interesting to me that you mention that you want to focus on your grades. To me, one of the benefits of homeschooling is that you get to set your own standards instead of being graded with a system of numbers and letters, which doesn’t really measure understanding, in my experience. When homeschooling, unless you enroll in an institution like Clonlara, you don’t even get graded on what you do.

Leave a Reply

