Skip to content

Done with School

May 26, 2010

Today is the last day of my junior year, and I’m not coming back to school. My friend Ciaran and I announced this morning our intention to homeschool next school year instead of returning to School of the Woods. The entirety of our high school (minus the seniors – they finished last week) looked at us silently with sad and confused eyes. I was more nervous than I expected to be as we explained how we wanted to pursue learning on our own, and how a structured school environment just didn’t allow us to do that. I told them all, honestly, that I would miss them and that I would keep in touch and visit the school often.

I’ve been answering questions all morning: Who’s going to teach you? What are you going to do? Are you just dropping out? None of these questions are new to me – as I’ve been discussing the idea of homeschooling with my parents, teachers, and close friends, I’ve had to answer them repeatedly. I will admit, though, that the last one, Are you just dropping out?, really caught me off guard. “No!” I gasped in response, and explained how I was enrolling in Clonlara, a home based education program started by a high school in Ann Arbor, Michigan. I wanted to make sure that everyone knew that I wasn’t a failure or lazy or any of those negative connotations of “dropping out.”

So, why do I care so much?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Blake Stephenson permalink
    May 29, 2010 3:04 pm

    Robin, great post! Keep it coming. Very authentic, which makes for good reading. I want to hear all about your learning journey. The challenges and fears that you are facing will make this a very satisfying experience for you.

Leave a Reply

